The Struggle Sunday: Working out in the morning

One of the things I’ve been trying to work on recently is working out in the morning. I live less than a mile from my gym. It’s about a 1 – 2 minute drive depending on how I catch the stop light leading out of my apartment complex. So, you would think that working out in the morning would be easy for me to adapt to. Not so much.

I seriously struggle with convincing myself I should get out of bed and get to the gym.

Shosh

I get angry when my alarm goes off.

Lilly

I hit snooze like a million times until my alarm is like an annoying friend who won’t shut up.

aziz

I sit up in my bed for like 15 minutes just trying to get it together enough to face the world.

giphy

It’s been a struggle to say the least. However, I have found success in a few small things that help me get up, get out and work out. Here’s what’s been working for me:

  1. I lay my clothes out on my bedroom end table the night before—underwear and all.

I put my clothes within arm’s reach so that when my alarm goes off I can slowly put on my clothes while staying under the covers. I don’t even have to get out of bed to make the first step towards getting to the gym. Be sure to include a hoodie or some sweat pants so you’re not tempted to get back under the warm covers.

2. Have a water bottle ready in the fridge.

The fewer things you have to before walking out the door, the less time you’ll have to think about (and dread) going to the gym—but that’s not the only benefit of having water ready to go. Drinking cold water helps wake you up and hydrate you while you drive to the gym.

3. Try catching an AM fitness or spin class to help motivate you to get there on time and have a better workout.

I have such a hard time getting moving in a timely manner when I know I have no time restraint or commitment. If I’m singed up for a spin class I have a reason to get to the gym at a specific time I’m more likely to get there by 5:30 for a complete workout. Not only that, but I have someone to motivate me through my workout.

4. Focus on getting through one step at a time.

Rather than focusing on getting to the gym, I focus on getting dressed, getting out of bed and then getting out the door. With each completed baby step, I’m that much closer to a workout and run less of a risk of getting back into bed. Once I’m out the door, there’s no turning back.

I’m up to consistently working out in the morning at least 1-2 times per week, which might not seem like a lot to some people, but I’m working on taking small steps to becoming a morning exerciser. It’s so great to get my workout out of the way, so I can have the evenings to focus on tidying up the apartment, blogging or my favorite activity—organizing!

Do you have any tips for working out in the morning that I may have missed? Let me know in the comments below or tweet me @lifeinorderblog.

Don’t forget to subscribe to Life in Order for organizing tips and tricks delivered to your inbox, and follow me on Blog Lovin’, Instagram @lifeinorder and Twitter @lifeinorderblog.

One thought on “The Struggle Sunday: Working out in the morning

Comments are closed.