How to organize warrantees, manuals and receipts in a binder

Have you ever bought something expensive and knew you had to hold on to the paperwork, instructions, CD and receipt for it? How many times have you put that paperwork in a drawer never to be seen again–especially a year later when you really really need it because you’re moving or need to reprogram something? If you’re anything like me (before I got organized), it’s probably happened more times than you can count.

If you’re a renter who tends to move around a lot, it’s so important to keep this type of paperwork organized. You’ll need user manuals to know how to program and reprogram your electronics, instructions so you can assemble and disassemble large furniture and receipts and warrantees incase things break. Make sure you’re prepared for any future move and set yourself up a warrantees manuals and receipts binder.
Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 7.37.21 AM

First, I would like to say that I cannot take credit for the genius that is this binder. I completely stole this project from my inspiration for all that is organizing, Alejandra Costello from alejandra.tv. She’s a professional organizer and had tons of great videos full of tips and DIYs for organizing the spaces of your home–if you haven’t checked her out yet, now’s the time.

Also, I’ve linked all of the products I used in the body copy of this post. Just click on the name of the product and it will direct you to a site where you can purchase the items! Let’s get started.

image2

First, you’ll need a binder. I used a 3″ Better Binder from Staples. This particular binder is really high quality, large and sturdy enough to hold several poly envelopes.

image3

For the cover, I just slipped a piece of scrapbook paper into the front clear pocket and put a Martha Stewart Collection label over top of the plastic and used my labeler with some clear tape to make a label.

image6

Inside, I used clear poly envelope inserts for each item I have paperwork for. The “home” section has manuals and receipts for all of our home items, such as our bed frame, George Foreman grill, blender, etc.

image8

Make sure your poly envelopes have solid closures. These have velcro to keep everything inside the pocket and not all over the place. Also, if you have large manuals, instructional CDs or anything similarly bulky, you’ll want your pockets to be expandable as well.

image7

I just used a post-it sticky tab to the top of the poly envelope and used my clear label tape to label each section. There are so many different colors and styles of these that you can color code as you see fit.

image5

Don’t forget to fan out the placement of your labels so you can see them all at a glance!

image9

Taking the time to set up a binder like this might seem time consuming, this one small project will save you so much time later on. Never waste another second searching through a pile of papers and set yourself up with one of these bad boys, today!

If you’re into organizing, decorating, or are experiencing the growing pains of being an aging millennial, please subscribe by submitting your e-mail address in the sidebar. Also, you can follow me on Instagram @lifeinorder for pictures of the latest happenings in my highly organized life, or find me on Twitter @LifeInOrderBlog for 140 characters of amazing, 4x a day. Catch you next time!Signature

2 thoughts on “How to organize warrantees, manuals and receipts in a binder

  1. It’s a great idea! I’ve a drawer full of manuals and warrants and I never find anything. I think I’m going to organize them as you. =)

Comments are closed.