The Struggle Sunday: New Year’s Resolutions

Screen Shot 2015-03-01 at 7.11.46 PM

We all know how hard the struggle can be. It’s just so. real. There are so many small things that make life a huge pain in the ass. We tell ourselves “This week, I’m getting it together. I’m gonna eat healthy, go to the gym, and keep my apartment clean every. single. day.” On Sunday, we make it our weekly goal to put on our big girl and boy panties, give the world the finger and be awesome at life. But, somehow, by 3 p.m. Tuesday, there are dirty clothes all over the floor, the sink is full of dishes, and the gym is a no-go because, well … Netflix. So, I’ve dedicated Sunday’s to talking about some of life’s biggest struggle’s that millennials face, and the ways we can make getting our shit together (sorry, mom) just a little bit easier.

This week, let’s talk about New Year’s Resolutions. You know, those goals you set two months ago that went out the window sometime in early February? Yeah, those really suck. Here’s a little news flash: as of today, it’s March. It’s seriously the third month of the year. Time might be flying, but there is still enough to recuperate. If you’re struggling to get back on the wagon with your resolutions, try these tips before November comes around and you’re struggling to lose weight, travel, save money and floss your teeth more so you can tell yourself you kind of kept your 2015 resolution.

1. Organize your stuff to make it physically easier to keep your resolution.

One of my resolutions was to take better care of my teeth. That started with actually going to the dentist for the first time in 3 years (I didn’t have insurance #TheStruggle). Next, I decided I needed to start flossing my teeth more. I used to think “Who does that?” then I realized you actually need to floss, or you’ll have a huge dental bill.

Just telling myself to floss wasn’t working. Probably because it’s so. freakin. annoying. So, I reorganized my bathroom countertop so that I had floss picks sitting right there, staring me in the face, only one hand motion away. Since then, I’ve been flossing more, probably still less than I should (it’s still annoying), but I’m getting back on track to making it a habit.

2. Set smaller goals.

A year is 365 days. That’s kind of a long time to tell yourself you’re going to start doing something. There’s always next month, week or even day. Try setting smaller goals that take a week or two weeks to accomplish, and make sure they have a hard deadline. It will be more difficult to flake on your resolutions if you’re working on them a little bit at a time. If you’re trying to save money, try to put a small amount away each week. If you’re trying to lose weight, shoot for 1 lb. per week. If you’re trying to get organized, pick one small area of the house and give yourself two weeks to organize it. You get the idea.

3. Get organized.

I really couldn’t help myself with this one. Bur really, organizing at it’s essence is really just pre-planning–setting things up ahead of time to make things easier for yourself down the road. Make sure you’re always pre-planning, pre-packing and pre-arranging to make it easier for you to accomplish your goal. For example, if you’re trying to work out in the morning at least twice a week, sign up for two AM classes at the gym (going to a class is easier than trying to motivate yourself in the morning, by the way), and lay your clothes out on your nightstand. When you’re alarm goes off your clothes will be right there next to you, waiting, making it easier for you to get up and out the door.

4. Track your progress by writing it out on a calendar or planner.

Schedule your goals in advance on a weekly, monthly or daily basis. Make to-do lists with what you want to accomplish. Do you want to drink 8 glasses of water per day? Write out “water” in your planner with eight check boxes next to it, or even schedule times of the day for you to go fill up your water bottle. Planning to fail is failing to plan. I sound like your mom, but it’s totally true.

5. Reward yourself for reaching your goals.

Plan something special to treat yourself to when you’ve accomplished your resolution. Spa days, trips, or even meals can serve as great motivation. Alejandra Costello keeps her exercise goals by giving herself a sticker when she goes to the gym. Do what works for you.

When it comes to New Year’s Resolutions, the struggle is real, but the good news is, it’s only the very beginning of March. There is still time. So use these tips to “keep on keepin’ on,” as they say, and you’ll be back on track in no time.

Have a life struggle you need some encouragement with? Let me know in the comments, tweet me @qqquimby016 or e-mail me at ayq5005@gmail.com. I want to give you guys the help you actually need!

Also, check out my new Instagram for pics of awesomely organized spaces, organizing products I pick up (I frequent the Target dollar spot), and daily ideas to make getting organized and growing up just a little bit easier. Follow me @LifeInOrder and share your organized spaces with me also!

