Organizing Make-up in a Small Space

Screen Shot 2015-02-21 at 7.03.44 PM

I’ve got to be honest. I wouldn’t really call my current apartment “tiny” by any means. We’ve gotten quite the upgrade since our first 750 square foot shoe box. However, the one thing (the only thing) that was downgrade from our last place is the bathroom. It’s smaller and there is far less storage options in the actual bathroom itself. So, I’ve had to get a little bit creative with how I store my make-up and the process I use for my morning routine.

Here’s what I came up with:

IMG_3150

This little beauty regimen box hangs on the wall in my bathroom where I do my makeup each morning. Although it’s not exactly within arms reach, I keep things corralled in one small acrylic make-up organizer and a glass container (I used to use it for pencils on my desk growing up – I think it was a candle at one point). Having everything on only two containers makes everything easy to get down from this shelf, and easy to put away. If I had everything loose, I would have to reach up a bunch of times to put each item away and that would get annoying. So annoying, in fact, that I probably wouldn’t get much use out of my make-up.

IMG_3149

I love the way my brushes look in this tinted class cup with floral beads that I got from Michaels. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I love Michaels. It’s a creative organizers playground.

IMG_3145

Behind/next to my brushes I have my Naked 3 palette, it was kind of hard to find a place for, but it fits perfectly vertical behind my brushes and since I don’t use it every single day, I figured it wasn’t a big deal.

IMG_3144

I got this acrylic organizer from Joanne fabrics a few years back when they were harder to find. It was in the dollar area, like the bins that are near the register. But you can find these things everywhere now. I actually saw some larger versions at Target today. Find one that fits your make-up best.

IMG_3148

I keep my toners, lotions, creams, etc. in this little section. If I don’t keep them out where I can see them and grab them quickly, they’ll go unused and ultimately, my skin will suffer. It’s so important when you’re organizing to think about where you can put things that will be easy to access and use. It might not look Pinterest perfect, but organizing first and foremost is about efficiency. If it’s too difficult to see something, grab it, and put it back, then you’re defeating the whole purpose.

IMG_3146

So, you’ve probably been thinking that I don’t have that much make-up and I wish that were true. I actually keep the make-up that I don’t use everyday, back-ups, etc. in the linen closet just outside my bathroom. It hangs on the inside of the door in a jewelry organizer.

IMG_3143

These little pockets are really for organizing jewelry, but I found that it didn’t work well as a jewelry organizer for me. The visual clutter was a little overwhelming and honestly, it still is. The pattern is cute and everything, but it’s a lot to look at everyday. That being said, it perfectly fits on the back of the closet door, maximizes space, and I don’t necessarily have to use these items everyday, so I really can’t complain.

Make-up is one of those thing you’ll use everyday. Typically, it’s part of a morning routine, meaning that if you don’t organize it perfectly to meet your needs and habits, it can throw off your whole day. Remember, in addition to it being easy for you to access everyday, it’s also important to be easy to put back when you’re done. It’s not fun to come home to a counter, dresser or vanity with make-up everywhere. Be sure you’re building systems that are orderly and realistic.

I hope this post has helped give you ideas on how to organize your make-up if you’re living in a small apartment. If you have anything to add, leave me a comment below or tweet me @qqquimby016. Don’t forget to subscribe for weekly organizing tips!Signature

