Budgeting: Aldi vs. Name Brand Grocery Comparison

The last couple of weeks I have shown you how to cut your grocery budget without couponing, then I showed you my process by taking you grocery shopping with me. If I haven’t already convinced you, I’m going to kick it up a notch (as my spin instructor would say. P.S. – I’ve recently gotten hooked on spin, does anyone else love it?)! Anyways, I went around my local Aldi and my local grocery store, Hannaford, to show you the difference in price for some staple items. If you’re wondering how awkward it was to take pictures while grocery shopping, the answer is very, very awkward. But, it’s worth it to save you guys some money!

You’ll find that a lot of these prices aren’t that different – what’s 50 cents on a carton of milk, right? Wrong! Think about a cart full of groceries and then multiply each item by 50 cents. Those cents add up to dollars pretty quickly in the checkout line.

I started with an essential: milk. Matt and I rarely ever buy regular milk anymore, it’s almost always almond milk. Here’s what we’re saving by buying from Aldi:
Screen Shot 2015-02-05 at 7.36.29 PM

Aldi = $2.49
Almond Breeze = $2.99

Savings = 51 cents.

Screen Shot 2015-02-05 at 7.52.57 PM

Take a look at those berry prices. They are SO expensive this time of year. But, the prices at Aldi are still cheaper than the sale prices at Hannaford. I know you might be put-off by the idea of buying berries form Aldi, but they are just as good. On this particular day I bought blackberries to put in my yogurt and they lasted me all week.

Blackberries: Aldi = $1.99, Hannaford = $2.50, savings = 51 cents
Raspberries: Aldi = $1.99, Hannaford = $2.50, savings = 51 cents
Blueberries: Aldi = $2.29, Hannaford = $3.99, savings = $1.70

Really, the savings on blueberries – you cannot beat that!

Screen Shot 2015-02-05 at 7.44.03 PM

These blocks o’ cheese show that even Aldi has sales sometimes. Keep in mind, I also priced this against Hanford’s own brand – the cheapest cheese block they have in the store!

Aldi also has fancy cheese like gouda, brie, and goat cheese. Imagine the amazingly cheap cheese tray you could have at your next dinner party. Bonus points if you eat it with your pinky out.

Aldi = $1.79
Hannaford = $2.39

Savings = 60 cents

Screen Shot 2015-02-05 at 7.42.27 PM

Okay guys, Aldi only has organic spring mix–but it’s still cheaper than Hannaford’s non-organic, store-brand spring mix. I wonder how the prices are different when you compare organic to organic … hmm …

Aldi = $2.49
Hannaford = $2.99

Savings = 51 cents

Screen Shot 2015-02-05 at 7.39.02 PM

Yogurt can be a huge money suck if you’re not careful. If you were to buy one Chobani for, let’s say, six days of the week, that’s $6.54 just on yogurt for one person. No thank you. Here’s how Aldi’s greek yogurt compares.

Aldi = 75 cents
Chobani = $1.09

Savings = 34 cents per cup.

If I bought six cups of greek yogurt from Aldi, it would cost me only $4.50. That’s what I was talking about when I said those cents add up! That’s a savings of $2.50 for the week–mind blowing.

So there you have it. I hope by now I’ve convinced you that you can save money on groceries without couponing. Getting yourself organized and on track doesn’t have to be harder, just smarter. If you plan out your meals, shop at off-brand grocery stores and watch for sales you can slash away at your budget and have more money to spend on other things–like vacation. If you live in the northeast like I do, you probably need one. Get on on that, I know I am!Signature

