The Best Live Tweets of Super Bowl 49

I hope everyone in the northeast is safe and snug in their homes today! After an accident due to inclement weather on Friday, I’m glad that my company is working from home today. Check out this view I have from my desk today:

IMG_3083

Not too bad, right?

So, I’m going a little off topic today and letting my career take over for a minute. Let’s talk about last night. The Superbowl is the biggest day of the year for my kind. No matter who’s playing in the game, it’s always a win for the advertising industry, it’s the one night of the year where people look forward to commercials and social media has taken critiques of those ads to a whole new level.

Live tweeting has been so popular in the world of marketing and PR lately, so of course I had to get in on the action. While I tried watching the game, I couldn’t help but stare at my Twitter feed at all the great live Tweets happening in the advertising world about the commercials. I’m a true millennial – I love to hear (and give my own) opinions in an instant.

Here are some of the best live tweets that came up on my feed last night.

Screen Shot 2015-02-02 at 9.22.52 AM

Um, so “Invisible Mindy” for Nationwide was seriously hilarious. Right after it aired, this gem popped up on the #SB49 Twitter feed. If it wasn’t already, “Is Everybody Hanging Out Without Me?” is moving to the top of my reading list.

Screen Shot 2015-02-02 at 9.30.35 AM

I think this was probably the best commercial I saw last night. The polar bear dying to be chosen? Come on, so great.

Screen Shot 2015-02-02 at 9.23.15 AM

The organizer in me got giddy with excitement when I saw this picture of HGTV’s Scott bothers at the Superbowl (yes, I follow Drew Scott). Too bad he was rooting for the Pats.

Screen Shot 2015-02-02 at 9.24.19 AM

And then there was halftime. The holy grail for live tweeters. The hilarity started with the tweet above, but definitely didn’t stop there. (P.S. – I’m totally team Taylor but this was too funny not to share.)

Screen Shot 2015-02-02 at 9.23.47 AM

This tweet was from one of the funniest people I know – my best friend, Becca. She’s an elementary school teacher, if it wasn’t already obvious.

Screen Shot 2015-02-02 at 9.23.03 AM

NATIONAL AQUARIUM TWEETED THIS. I couldn’t get over how much I loved that.

Screen Shot 2015-02-02 at 9.22.15 AM

I agree with many in the Twitter community in my opinion that Missy Elliot stole the show. Common White Girl thought so too. She’s always good for a laugh on Twitter and totally speaks to the 90s/00s girl in all of us.

Screen Shot 2015-02-02 at 9.22.41 AM

So many Hunger Games jokes about Katy Perry’s flames outfit. Common White Girl was one of the first – confirming she’s hilarious.

Screen Shot 2015-02-02 at 9.22.30 AM

This year, advertising was great for the feminist movement. My favorite thing about advertising is not only that it reflects and speaks to current culture, but it helps shape it. Sometimes it can be in negative ways, but the positivity surrounding females in commercials this year was completely amazing. Always, “Like a Girl” spot was proof.

Screen Shot 2015-02-02 at 9.29.51 AM

I really loved the Jeep spot, and it was great to see the support for American-made products that took the spotlight this year. WeatherTech is another great example.

Screen Shot 2015-02-02 at 9.30.08 AM

I didn’t agree with a lot of the ratings that AdWeek gave out this year, but I could get on board with Liam Neeson’s spot for Clash of Clans. It was totally unexpected and I was happy to see that the pros appreciated it as well.

What were some of your favorite moments form last night’s big game? Was it the commercials, the half time show or the terribly disappointing ending for the Seahawks? Did you seen any Tweets on your feed that were funny or made an impression on you? Let me know in the comments below or Tweet me @qqquimby016Signature

