Valentines Day Diary

Hey there!

I hope very one had a blessed and warm Valentines Day. I hope wherever you are, I hope conditions are better than where I am because we dealt with a winter storm warning from 10am Thursday until 10am Friday! We got about a foot and a half of snow in 24 hours and it’s still snowing. Yikes! I guess that’s what happens here in upstate New York, you think I would be used to it by now.

Although my Valentines Day was very snowy, I still had an awesome day celebrating with Matt! Here was his first gift to me:

image_3

It’s kinda hard to see what’s going on here, but that’s Matthew brushing off my car for me! The best part was that I didn’t even have to ask. I’m so spoiled.

While he was outside doing that, I was inside attempting to be a domestic homemaker by getting crafty with pancakes.

image_2

Don’t laugh at me! They’re supposed to be hearts. Haha I’m so cheesy. It’s fine.

Then I went off to work and hung out with some 3 year olds and got to eat a chocolate berry pudding pop! Yummm πŸ™‚

When I got home the real fun started and we exchanged our gifts! I got Matt Super Smash Bros for the new Wii he got me for Christmas! I never got to play video games growing up and I LOVE playing the classic nintendo games like Mario Party and Mario Cart. You know, all the good stuff I missed out on as a kid. So we’ve been playing those games together a lot and he was really wanting Super Smash Bros. Anyways, here’s what he got me:

image_4

LOVE me some Alex and Ani +Energy! My collection is growing and I’m pretty happy about it. My inner diva was even more excited.

Speaking of my inner diva, we decided to not do anything too big for Valentine’s Day, just dinner and a movie. But, our plans changed big time when we got to the restaurant and realized that we were in for a serious dining experience. We ate at Bellini’s Italian Eatery in Clifton Park Center and apparently they go all out for V Day. They sat us down at a huge round booth and had a special menu for Valentines day that included 3 courses. And, of course, we had to split a bottle of wine.

image_7

When in doubt, pinky out.

Everything was TO DIE FOR. Especially the dessert, which looked a little something like this:

image_8

OM NOM NOM. Chocolate coma.

Two hours later we had finished the wine (which we intended to take some home) and had a little bit of each course boxed up. At this point it was 9:45, it was past our bedtime, our bellies were full, and I had some rosy cheeks from the wine, so we went right home and skipped the movie. Yup, that’s right, we’re 22 and couldn’t even last through a late-night movie!

Needless to say, it was really nice to sit and indulge in some delicious food. We don’t go out to eat often, and usually eat at home in front of the TV so it was nice to sit down and talk and laugh with one another all night. We were mostly cracking up at how we weren’t classy enough for the joint and joking that we would get kicked out and be forced to use our BOGO coupon across the street at Chipotle.

I guess our attempt at not making a big deal out of Valentine’s Day turned out to be just the opposite, but that’s okay.Β I think a lot of people try to avoid the whole thing for the sake of being cheesy and buying into a commercial holiday. But really, it’s kind of nice to celebrate love and the richness it can bring to your life, whether that love is romantic or not.

I hope you all had an amazing and love-filled Valentine’s Day. I know I did!

image_6

Talk to you guys next time!

Screen Shot 2013-03-07 at 12.21.08 PM

