The “Big Move”

Hi Everyone!

So I’ve been on such a long hiatus because I recently packed up my life and moved out to Clifton Park, NY with my boyfriend, Matt. For those of you who don’t know, Clifton Park is a suburb of Albany or Saratoga Springs (depending on how you define the location).

The move was a BIG BIG decision for me, especially since I moved with no job, and only the money I made from my summer waitressing job. I always knew I wanted to move in with Matt after graduation and the fact that it was a place where I had never been before was an added bonus.

How many times in life is there so little holding you back that you can move with no strings attached? Being 22 years old, it seemed like the only option for me. I knew if I didn’t move here and move in with Matt, that I would always wonder and might find myself regretting it. Also, there was almost nothing keeping me in Rochester, other than my friends and family, most of which I know I’ll always have in my life no matter where I live. I had no job, and there is little to no opportunity for advertising, other than a few major agencies.

Anyways, I’ve been living here for almost 4 months now and things are going really well. Although I haven’t yet found my dream full-time job, I’m finally building a network and figuring out where I’ll fit in the landscape of the Capital District. In the meantime, I’m working at a daycare, mainly with 3 year-olds (who I LOVE) and with many women who have changed my outlook on life and I’m so happy to call my new friends. In the mornings, I work as a barista at Starbucks, which is turning out to be a pretty cool job.

Somehow, between my two part time jobs, I manage to pay the bills (well, half since Matt and I split everything 50/50). Including paying rent on a 750 square foot apartment. The good news is, I’ve finally got it close enough to acceptable to finally show pictures of my tiny closet-like domicile.

Here’s my little home. Let’s start wight he front door:

IMG_1560

Totally glamorous, right? Especially the shovel. We use that to unbury our cars. We do live in upstate, NY after all 🙂

IMG_1561

Love this little board and picture frames my sister gave us before we moved 🙂

IMG_1563

IMG_1564

IMG_1565

IMG_1568

IMG_1570

Our favorite thing about the apartment: the washer and dryer!

IMG_1571

IMG_1572

IMG_1573

IMG_1574

IMG_1579

IMG_1575

IMG_1584

IMG_1583

IMG_1581

IMG_1580

IMG_1594

My favorite picture of us 🙂

IMG_1593

Matt made this dining room table HIMSELF! I was so proud of him, especially since he had never built anything before. Isn’t it beautiful?

IMG_1592

IMG_1591

IMG_1590

IMG_1588

IMG_1604

NERD ALERT: My Harry Potter collection and other books 🙂

IMG_1603

If you live in a tinny apartment, I 100% suggest buying some cheap bookshelves from target like this one, it maximizes vertical space and creates a TON more storage, not to mention it looks cute.

IMG_1602

IMG_1600

IMG_1599

IMG_1598

IMG_1596

IMG_1595

Again, LOVE the table.

IMG_1614

IMG_1613

IMG_1612

Throw pillows, throw pillows, throw pillows … I love them. They are a cheap way to dress up our old, worn out futon and make it a little more comfortable as well.

IMG_1611

Our floating shelves are from IKEA, as is our bed frame and dining chairs.

IMG_1610

My beautiful niece, Allison.

IMG_1609

Matt has a desktop computer, meaning we had to have a desk somewhere … unfortunately.

IMG_1608

The chair belonged to my grandmother and is not all that cute, but its comfortable, free, and kind of growing on me.

IMG_1607

We love boardgames!

IMG_1606

For all you CC grads, YUP that is an illustration of the high school circa 2009 (pre-renovations).

IMG_1605

Hit up Michaels for faux plants and other home decor items, there are always sales and coupons!

IMG_1619

IMG_1618

The cut out between the living room and kitchen was another favorite thing about this place.

IMG_1617

Matt’s “sportchulas”

IMG_1616

IMG_1615

Artwork by: Sammy Dwyer: finger-painting guru.

And that’s where I live now! It’s not much and it’s not ideal, but We’ve finally made it into a place where we feel at home and I think its not bad for the apartment of two 22 year olds! What do you think?